Monster

Children’s pictures can be brilliant places to get ideas. There’s often a symbolic immediacy and a rawness to them that bypasses all artifice later learnt and can provide images the like of which an adult mind would struggle to get down on paper. I did this sketch based on a drawing I saw done by a three year old boy, the sheer terror of which I have only managed to approximate in my own version. I wish I could show you the original as well – suffice to say it was pretty scary. The blank gaze and irrevocable forwards tread of the monster, its lipless snarl of pain or anger and the tiny figure before it really stuck in my mind and served as a timely reminder that childhood can be an incredibly rich place to look for artistic inspiration, not to mention an occasionally ridiculously scary place for the child in question.

 

Leave a Reply

