Chicken Licken

Here’s a picture I did for a competition run by the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) earlier in the year. The brief was to illustrate the excerpt below from the story of Chicken Licken.

You can see the winning picture here, along with some of the other entries. It’s really interesting to see the range of interpretations on display, the elements of the text people chose to emphasise and the ways in which the entries differ or share certain elements in common. There’s some nice work there, though none, of course, quite so good as my own, criminally overlooked, offering.

So they went along and went along until they met Turkey Lurkey.
“Good morning, Goosey Loosey, Ducky Daddles, Cocky Locky, Henny Penny and Chicken Licken,” said Turkey Lurkey. “Where are you going?” 
“Oh, Turkey Lurkey, the sky is falling and we are going to tell the King!” 
“How do you know the sky is falling?” asked Turkey Lurkey.
“Ducky Daddles told me,” said Goosey Loosey. 
“Cocky Locky told me,” said Ducky Daddles.
“Henny Penny told me,” said Cocky Locky.
“Chicken Licken told me,” said Henny Penny.
“I saw it with my own eyes, I heard it with my own ears and a piece of it fell on my tail!” said Chicken Licken.
“Then I will go with you,” said Turkey Lurkey, “And we will tell the King!”

3 thoughts on “Chicken Licken”

  1. Thanks for sharing this Sam. I loved all of the illustrations and can see why Yvette Herrera’s won. It shows the complete panic beautifuly. I love your entry. It is gorgeous, but in stark contrast to Yvette’s it has a very calming, peaceful feel to it.

    (This competition has been very educational for me as a struggling writer.)

    Sorry you didn’t win this time, but know you will sometime, somewhere up the road.

  2. Thanks!
    I’m glad looking through the entries has been educational for you Elizabeth. I think it’s fascinating how the same piece of writing can be brought to life in so many different ways. I guess it’s what makes reading such a personal experience.

Leave a Reply

